Anyone Growing Hops?

Home Forums Brewing General Anyone Growing Hops?

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      tettnang tom
      Participant
      @tettnang-tom

Hi All,

With the hops shortage, just wondering if anyone is growing their own hops for the fall? B)

tt
      Hops_Galore___.jpg

Anonymous

Im growing some cascades. This is my first year. This pic is about 3 weeks old. They are now well over 12 ft. and some buds are showing up. Can’t wait!

Dave McVeigh
      @mich-dave

I’m growing Cascade and Hallertau. The Cascade is 12-14 ft tall with about 100 buds, while the Hallertau is 9-10 with a couple dozen buds. For the first few years I plan on using them for just bittering. Later when I get enough for several batches, I’ll try them for flavor,aroma or dry hopping.
      Mich Dave

tettnang tom
      Participant
      @tettnang-tom

Hi Josh,

Glad to hear that you have a good crop up and growing. Somehow your pic didn’t get posted. It would be great to see your picture.

Hi Dave,
      You are the winner so far with hops flowers and cones to follow!!!

I used horse manure to set the rhisomes. They took off like crazy.
      If I get a bad batch of brew in the fall, I even have a built-in excuse, however, I haven’t seen my excuse listed in:

Trouble Shooting/Off flavors when your beer tastes like band-aid, cardboard, plastic, but no horse s####!

tt

Steve Gruver
      Participant
      @gruversm

I’m growing Centennial, Cascade, Nugget and Fuggles.

tettnang tom
      Participant
      @tettnang-tom

Steve,

Great news on the hops. Any pictures? We’ve got a little contest going to help with the world wide hops shortage.

I’ve got Cascade Centennial, Mt. Hood, Goldings, Nugget, Willamette.

tt

Chip Lewis
      @iechyd-da

My cones are just starting to form. I’ve got just 2 Cascade plants going with about 5 bines on each plant.

tettnang tom
      Participant
      @tettnang-tom

Looking Good Chip! 😉